Government Information > Boards & Commissions > Board of Aldermen & Alderwomen

Board of Aldermen & Alderwomen

Charles Sampson,   President of the Board

Members of the Board:

          1st Ward                                     2nd Ward                                   3rd Ward
Barbara L. DeGennaro (D)             Joseph L. DiMartino (D)             Jim DiMartino (R)

Thomas Donofrio (D)                      Vacant (R)                                      Louis Oliwa (R)
Bev Moran (R)                                  Ronald M. Sill (D)                        Charles Sampson  (R)

The Board of Aldermen is the legislative branch of the city made up of nine members (3 from each of the city's three wards).

Aldermen & Alderwomen adopt three new ordinances:
     Hazardous and Unsanitary Buildings
     Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments
     Board of Building Appeals

Meeting Schedule:
The Derby Board of Aldermen meet the 2nd Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Aldermanic Chambers of City Hall at 1 Elizabeth Street.

The Board operates by passing ordinances which are the laws of the city.  Ordinances can be used to form city boards and commissions, establish city policy and prohibit activities.  Most appointments to city boards and commissions are made by the Mayor, but are subject to the Board's approval.

Sub-Committee meetings are held on the 4th Thursday of each month:  Blight Sub-Committee 6pm, Community Relations Sub-Committee and Road Bond Sub-Committee 6:30pm, Operations & Procedures Sub-Committee 7pm.

The public is invited to attend all Board and Sub-Committee meetings.

Available videos of Board of Aldermen/Alderwomen meetings can be found on the Mayor's Facebook page. Click HERE.

Municipal Web Design by EvoGov