Board of Aldermen & Alderwomen

Sarah Widomski,   President of the Board   

Members of the Board - Click on a member to contact them:    

1st Ward                                         2nd Ward                                3rd Ward 
Barbara L. DeGennaro (D)             Brian Coppolo (D)                      
Robert D. Hyder (U)
Anita Dugatto (D)                            Gino DiGiovanni (R)                 Charles Sampson  (R) 
 Sarah Widomski (D)
                       Ronald M. Sill (D)                      
Kevin Sharkey  (D) 

The Board of Aldermen is the legislative branch of the city made up of nine members (3 from each of the city's three wards).  

Meeting Schedule:   
The Derby Board of Aldermen meet the 2nd Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Aldermanic Chambers of City Hall at 1 Elizabeth Street.     The Board operates by passing ordinances which are the laws of the city.  Ordinances can be used to form city boards and commissions, establish city policy and prohibit activities.  Most appointments to city boards and commissions are made by the Mayor, but are subject to the Board's approval.  

Sub-Committee meetings are held on the 4th Thursday of each month beginning at 6:00 pm and held in the following order:  Blight Sub-Committee, Community Relations Sub-Committee, Road Bond Sub-Committee, and Operations & Procedures Sub-Committee.  

The public is invited to attend all Board and Sub-Committee meetings.